Accessibility Links

Minister encourages nominations for Pearson Teaching Awards

16/01/2014 Joanna
Education and skills minister Huw Lewis has invited people to nominate exceptional teachers for a Pearson Teaching Award.

The awards were founded in 1999 by Lord Puttnam and recognise the life-changing impact those in education jobs can have on their students.

Mr Lewis pointed to the success of institutions such as the Cogan Nursery School in Penarth, which won the Outstanding School Team award; Primary School Headteacher of the Year Catherine Power of St Philip Evans RC Primary School in Llanedeyrn, and Marcus Thomas, FE Teacher/Lecturer of the Year from Coleg Cambria.

"If there's a teacher or teaching team you think deserve recognition for their work I urge you to put them forward for an award," Mr Lewis commented.

Teachers are selected for the awards after receiving a 'thank you card' from a student; their headteacher is then contacted to suggest an appropriate category for an award and write a supporting statement. Alternatively, teachers can be nominated directly by a headteacher. A panel of judges then selects finalists for the awards.

Nominations must be made by February 28th.

Posted by Charlotte MichaelsADNFCR-2164-ID-801682982-ADNFCR
Add new comment